Image of Hostos Student Nurses

Hostos Community College recognizes our newest frontline heroes, our Fall 2020 graduates of the Associate Degree in Nursing program at the College. Twenty-three students were celebrated during a contemporary virtual pinning ceremony, held Monday, December 21, 2020 at 5 p.m.
The challenges Hostos students faced during this time are unprecedented, and this special online ceremony highlights their achievements and dedication. In keeping with tradition, the nursing department commended and recognized the following top performing students with awards: Lujania Castro, Florence Nightingale Award; Jennifer Juarbe, González-Tubman Award; Andy Polanco, Phoenix Award; Jennifer Juarbe, Community Service Award; Lorena Cabrera, Probity Award; and Jose Salazar, Computer Award. Additional distinctions were recognized as Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze Academic Awards, and were conferred to Manuela Ngankou, Jennifer Juarbe, Andy Polanco, and Renae Owens, respectively.
Congratulations came from Interim-President Daisy Cocco De Filippis, Provost Charles Drago, Dr. Geetha Ajay, and Olen Dias. Professor Rodney Blair’s remarks were in tune with all those who spoke. “I feel honored I got to teach this class,” he said. “They are resilient and brave. What they accomplished despite the pandemic is commendable and they should never forget what they sacrificed to give their families a better future.”
The Nursing Graduation Ceremony Committee members are Assistant Professor Rodney Blair; Assistant Professor Ronette Shaw; Assistant Professor, Dr. Geetha Ajay; Class 2020 President, Jennifer Juarbe, R.N.; and Class 2020 Vice President, Sadie Henriquez, R.N.
The pinning video was produced by OAA Program Coordinator, Rocio Rayo.