Eugenio María de Hostos Community College is honored to announce that Hostos’ President, Dr. Daisy Cocco De Filippis, has been appointed by New York City Mayor Eric Adams and New York Governor Kathy Hochul to join the “New” New York blue-ribbon panel. The 56-member panel is comprised of visionary leaders from across New York City’s business, academic, nonprofit, labor, and philanthropic sectors. Panelists will work with city and state economic development leaders to generate actionable recommendations to support resilient and vibrant business districts and develop strategies for an inclusive economic recovery in New York City and region.

The Offices of Governor Hochul and Mayor Adams announced the details of the “New” New York panel on June 13. 

“We can only create the prosperous, inclusive New York City we need by bringing everyone to the table, and that’s what we are doing,” said Mayor Adams. “This group of leaders from across the city, the state, and the region will recommend steps we can take immediately to strengthen our city’s economic engines, while putting forward the big ideas we must consider to build a post-pandemic city that works for all New Yorkers and all who come here. I look forward to working with Governor Hochul and the members of the ‘New’ New York panel to deliver on that vision.”

“This panel represents a diverse cross-section of New Yorkers with a track record of thinking big to develop innovative policies to drive growth in all five boroughs and beyond,” said Governor Hochul. “New York has demonstrated incredible resiliency over the last few years, and we owe it to New Yorkers to rebuild and revitalize our economy and ensure everyone has an opportunity to succeed. I have the utmost faith in the ‘New’ New York panel to deliver a bold, actionable, and equitable plan to move our city, region, and state forward.”

“I feel honored to have been appointed by Mayor Adams — and Governor Hochul — to serve on an important planning panel,” shared President Cocco De Filippis. “As a CUNY educated, now-president of Hostos Community College, I am very happy to represent public higher education, our immigrant populations and all of our students who come seeking life-transforming opportunities by means of education.”

The panel will begin meeting in June 2022 and provide recommendations by the end of the year.

The “New” New York Panel includes the following members:
Richard Buery, Jr. (co-chair), CEO, Robin Hood
Daniel L. Doctoroff (co-chair), former CEO, Sidewalk Labs
Priscilla Almodovar, president and CEO, Enterprise Community Partners
Khin Mai Aung, executive director, New York, Generation Citizen
Murad Awawdeh, executive director, New York Immigration Coalition
Donnell Baird, founder, BlocPower
Sian Beilock, president, Barnard College at Columbia University
Kyle Bragg, president, 32BJ
Hon. Sharon Bowen, chair, New York Stock Exchange
Victor Calise, director of global culture, equity, and inclusion, centers of excellence, Walmart
Rafael E. Cestero, CEO, Community Preservation Corporation
Alfred C. Cerullo, III, president and CEO, Grand Central Partnership
Vishaan Chakrabarti, founder and creative director, Practice for Architecture and Urbanism
Dr. Daisy Cocco De Filippis, president, Hostos Community College
Matt Cohen, president and CEO, Long Island Association
John R. Durso, president, Local 338 RWDSU/UFCW; and president, Long Island Federation of Labor
Cara Eckholm, head of growth, Nabr
Wallace Ford II, associate professor, Medgar Evers College of The City University of New York
William S. Floyd, senior director, U.S. state and local government affairs and public policy, Google
Dr. Marsha Gordon, president and CEO, Business Council of Westchester
Sharon Greenberger, president and CEO, YMCA of Greater New York
Danny Harris, executive director, Transportation Alternatives
Wayne Ho, president and CEO, Chinese-American Planning Council
Marc Holliday, chairman and CEO, SL Green Realty Corp
Angie Kamath, dean, New York University (NYU) School of Professional Studies
Jessica Lappin, president, Alliance for Downtown New York
Richard Maroko, president, Hotel and Gaming Trades Council, AFL-CIO
Raymond J. McGuire, former vice chairman, Citigroup
Melva M. Miller, CEO, Association for a Better New York
Mitchell L. Moss, professor of urban policy and planning, NYU Wagner School
Regina Myer, president, Downtown Brooklyn Partnership
Ana Oliveira, president and CEO, New York Women’s Foundation
Dr. Philip Ozuah, president and CEO, Montefiore Medicine
Charles Phillips, managing director and co-founder, Recognize
Dr. Jocelynne Rainey, president and CEO, Brooklyn Community Foundation
Taryn Sacramone, executive director, Queens Theatre
Janette Sadik-Khan, principal, Bloomberg Associates
Al Samuels, president and CEO, Rockland Business Association
Julie Samuels, founder, Tech:NYC; and partner, Hangar
Stephen Scherr, CEO, Hertz Corporation
Amy Schulman, managing partner, Polaris Partners
David Solomon, chairman and CEO, Goldman Sachs
Rob Speyer, CEO, Tishman Speyer
Jose Tavarez, president, Bank of America New York City; and vice chair, Bank of America Private Bank
William Thompson, Jr., board chairperson, City University of New York; and partner and chief administrative officer, Siebert Brandford Shank
Mary Ann Tighe, CEO, New York tri-state region, CBRE
Dr. Merryl H. Tisch, chair, State University of New York
Jessica Walker, president and CEO, Manhattan Chamber of Commerce
Carl Weisbrod, senior advisor, HR&A
James Whelan, president, Real Estate Board of New York
Fred Wilson, partner, Union Square Ventures
Tom Wright, president and CEO, Regional Plan Association
Clara Wu Tsai, founder, Clara and Joe Tsai Foundation; and governor, New York Liberty
Kathryn Wylde, president and CEO, Partnership for New York City
Dr. George D. Yancopoulos, co-founder and chief scientific officer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
Lourdes Zapata, president and CEO, South Bronx Overall Economic Development Corporation

To learn more, read the release prepared by the Office of the Mayor here and the release prepared by the Office of the Governor here.