2017/2018 COMMITTEE REPORT

NAME OF COMMITTEE

Senate Executive Committee

CHAIR OF COMMITTEE

Ernest lalongo

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Tram Nguyen (Vice-Chair), Terrence Brown (Secretary, Fall 2017), Hector Soto (Secretary, Spring 2018), James Kennis, Natasha Yannacanedo, Denise Herrera, Thierno Diallo, Catherine Lewis

DATES COMMITTEE MET

2017: October 11 November 8 December 13 2018: February 7 March 28 May 9

ACTIONS TAKEN (PLEASE BE SPECIFIC)

Elected the Vice-Chair (Nguyen) and Secretaries (Brown, then Soto), set the agenda for every Senate meeting, met with the chair of the CWCC at every meeting to prepare for the presentation of curricular items, met with the presenters of major items to prepare them for their Senate presentation, populated the Senate site with minutes, mandates, and annual reports of every Senate committee, helped coordinate all college elections, helped coordinate the certification of Senate committees, met with the President regarding Hostos priorities in the Chancellor's search, and facilitated the passage of all outstanding Charter amendments at the Board of Trustees.

Let us know if you are planning on stepping down as chair. If so, who will be replacing you? If this Senate Committee is holding its election in the fall, please let the chairs of the Committee on Committees know as soon as possible the election results. No, I am not stepping down as Chair.

HAVE STUDENTS BEEN PARTICIPATING MEMBERS OF YOUR COMMITTEE?

Yes they have (Denise Herrera, previously Sakiyna Switzer, and Thierno Diallo)

DO YOU HAVE VACANCIES IN YOUR COMMITTEE?

Please advise us to any members of the committee who are having attendance issues. According to the Hostos Charter of Governance, any member who has been absent 3 meetings without written notification shall be asked to resign and will be replaced by the Committee on Committees.

No.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS recommending to continue on in AY 2018 - 2019

All were elected for a three-year term and will continue, except the students, who will be elected at the September 2018 Senate meeting.

Do you have any concerns that need to be addressed?

Not at the moment.

Attach any additional information to this form and send it by May 17, 2018 to:

Professor Julie Trachman and Professor Michael Gosset, Co-Chairs, Committee on Committees as well as Prof. Ernest Ialongo, Chair, Hostos College Senate

E-mail addresses: jtrachman@hostos.cuny.edu ; mgosset@hostos.cuny.edu ; eialongo@hostos.cuny.edu 1 of 2