Student Government Association

Student Government Association


One of the main organizations that serves and represents the needs and interests of students at the Hostos Community College is the Student Government Association (SGA). SGA is comprised of sixteen (16) members, seven (7) of which serve as Executive Officers and nine (9) as Senators. SGA members are part of many important college-wide committees including the Hostos Association, College-Wide Senate, Auxiliary Enterprise Committee, Technology Fee Committee, Space Requests Committee and others. SGA organizes cultural, educational and social activities for the student body throughout the school year. It also assists student organizations in the planning and development of their activities. To learn more about the Student Government Association (SGA), visit one of the offices listed below or contact them via e-mail at

General Information

  • The SGA Conference Room is located in room C-534Student Government Association logo
  • SGA mailboxes are located at the SGA Conference Room (C-534)
  • All SGA Senate Meetings are open to Hostos Students and the college population
  • SGA Elections are held annually in the Spring semester
  • SGA members are elected to office for a one (1) year term

SGA Executive Board

The members of the Student Government Executive Board shall be the SGA President, the Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Vice President for Student Affairs and Community Relations, the Budget and Finance Commissioner, the Executive Secretary and appointed by the SGA President with the Consent of the Hostos Student Senate an Evening and Part-Time Student Affairs Commissioner and a Campus Affairs Commissioner.


Leaghton Ozoria President picture

Leaghton Ozoria
Room C-536
Ashanti Malcolm, VP
Vice President for Student Affairs

Ashanti Malcolm
Room C-532
Jose Gonzalez, VP
Vice President for Academic Affairs
(Chair of Senate)

Jose Gonzalez
Room C-533
Brian Carter, Finance Commissioner
Budget and Finance Commissioner (Treasurer)
Brian Carter 
Room C-531
Abigail Boateng, Secretary
Executive Secretary

Abigail Boateng
Room C-530
Teyanna Buckle Campus Commissioner
Campus Affairs Commissioner

Teyanna Buckle
Room C-534
Yassine         Gaye              PT/Evening Student Affairs Commissioner
PT Evening Student Affairs Commissioner 

Yassine Gaye   
Room C-530   

SGA Senators

The Hostos Student Senate authorizes programs and activities for the general benefit of the student body. Senators represent the student body at meetings of college or university committees, task forces and conferences.

Maria Benny, Senator
Maria Benny
Room C-532
Kacey Witter  Senator
Kacey Witter 
Room C-531
Malik Pellington, Senator
Malik Pellington
Room C-534
Elizabeth Soto, Senator
Elizabeth Soto
Room C-533
Abbi Raper Senator
Abbi Raper
Yassir Djoussou SenatorSenator
Yassir Djoussou
Room C-535

The Hostos Student Senate members shall schedule and be present in their office Monday through Thursday for at least four (4) hours per week, two (2) of those weekly office hours must be between 4:00 pm and 9:00 pm.


Reference Materials

Back to Previous Page